It’s easy to get caught up in planning for a wonderful future. As the start of medical school draws closer, I spent most of my time fixated on how great it will be to get back to school, to get off the treadmill of the glide year and return to the sensation of moving toward a goal.

The trouble is that during my glide year, I’ve gotten used to having endless free time to fill with…whatever I feel like. A large portion of this time is filled with empty pursuits; it’s astounding the percentage of one’s waking hours that can be spent following up on links posted to Facebook. I’m not going to miss those hobbies. (Okay, I might miss them a little. But mostly I acknowledge that I am a happier and healthier person without them.)

There are other habits I’ve begun this past year that I really want to continue. It takes an impressive amount of boredom, but as it turns out I do enjoy working out. I’ve taken up running and have slowly worked my way up to a 5K race I plan to run in June. I’ve also been writing more. Besides this blog, I’m doing a biweekly article for a small online site and have been steadily at work on a novel that will probably never see the light of day. I’ve been reading more too, plowing my way through books the way I haven’t since high school.

I want to have it all. I want to be able to spend eight hours a day studying and still have energy left over to cook a new recipe for dinner, work out for half an hour and bang out a thousand words of fiction on the weekends. Even sitting here now, sipping a latte at 3PM with nothing much planned for the rest of the day, I’m picturing how perfectly it will all work out.

It won’t all work out. I’m sure in the history of medical students there have been a few cases of super students who, I don’t know, ran their own business and a marathon, during medical school. I’m not that sort of person. I’m filling empty time right now, but once my schedule fills with library hours, something is going to have to give.

All of this is as it should be. It’s what I signed on for. If I just kept on having all this free time at my disposal I would get bored. I’m already bored. I chose medicine because it was all consuming; because I wanted to be consumed.

I’ll be interested to see how it all plays out. Which hobbies, if any, will make the cut once my availability drops. I intend on continuing the blog (and hopefully having more interesting topics to write about) and at least the occasional home cooked meal. And someday, years from now, perhaps I will make it as a writer/physician like the ones who have inspired me.

source: The University Times

