I have another interview. It’s been three months since I’ve pulled out my interview suit, but here I am, gearing up for another round.

On the one hand, it’s kind of nice to be doing this after a break. My financial situation is no longer dire, so taking the time and money to travel to the interview isn’t the same bean-counting venture it has been in the past. It’s been awhile since I’ve had to work out travel arrangements, but I mostly have the hang of how I’m getting from point A to point B these days. I’ve done this before, no sweat.

There is also the comfort of knowing that, even if I blow this, I will still be accepted into medical school at some pretty fantastic locations. This school doesn’t have to like me, although it would be splendid if they did. Some of the pressure is off, even if the excitement remains.

But there is also a part of me that is reluctant to go. When I received the invitation I had a good hour-long discussion with myself over whether or not it was worth it to go through the whole show again. I’m out of practice. All the little concerns that I was keeping track of in interviews 1-5 have been shoved off into storage. I’m worried I’ve forgotten their tracking number. Even if this isn’t the interview to make or break my medical school career, I would still like to acquit myself with dignity. Ending my interview cycle on a rejection would not fill me with confidence.

Regardless, the time has been set aside, the friend’s couch has been reserved, the bus tickets are nearly booked (seriously, any second I’m going to get on that.) One more interview to round out my glide year. Here’s hoping I can stick the landing.

