I’ve started working as an instructor at the massage school in town. It’s a position I held before starting the postbac, so although I’m in a new setting a lot of the details are the same. Meeting new people, especially in a setting so oriented around a specific career I am not a part of anymore, I’ve been explaining my story quite a bit lately.

Last week I was gathering my stuff up to go home when one of the TAs, a woman in her 40s or 50s, turned to me and said, seemingly out of nowhere, “I am so excited about your path in life.”

For a moment I was startled. “I…you mean medicine?” I asked.

“Yes! Sorry, that was unrelated. I hardly know you. But it just seems so exciting!”

I broke out into a smile. “Thank you,” I said. “I’m really excited too!”

She went on to tell me that medicine was something she might have liked to do, but that it really was too late for her now. She said this matter-of-fact, without self-pity or jealousy. It was just exciting to her, it seemed, to watch someone pursue their dream.

I love these little moments that remind me how lucky I am to be doing what I am doing. It is stressful, and nerve wracking, and right now incredibly boring. But I am pursuing my dream, and that isn’t something everyone has the luxury of doing. It is also something I nearly talked myself out of doing because it wasn’t practical.

I’ve been feeling off kilter recently because I’m in limbo. I’m not in school, but I am also not done with anything. That TA’s little burst of excitement reminded me that even though I might feel stuck right now, there is still plenty to be excited about.

